Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Reinhold Behringer
Knorr Bremse GmbH

Brief Bio
Since April 2019 Reinhold Behringer is working at Knorr Bremse GmbH on the development of autonomous truck systems. He previously (7/2017-3/2019) has been employed by Daimler-Protics in the development of Augmented Reality system for passenger vehicles. He is currently Visiting Professor at Leeds Beckett University, where he was Professor of Creative Technology from 2005 to 2017. His R&D focus in this position was on eLearning, location-based application development and mobile devices. He has two degrees in Physics (1988: MA, SUNY Buffalo, USA. 1990: Diplom in Physics, University Würzburg, Germany) and a PhD in Engineering (1996: Dr.Ing., UniBwM München, Germany). His main professional expertise is in autonomous road vehicles and real-time computer vision systems. He participated in the first US DARPA Grand Challenge (2004) and earlier in the development of the very first autonomous road vehicle which was driving on public roads in Germany (1995). For this vehicle, he has developed a real-time computer vision system for road/lane detection and following. During his following work at Rockwell Scientific (Thousand Oaks, USA) (1996-2005) he has developed prototype systems for Augmented Reality demonstrators and multi-modal Human-Computer Interaction demonstrations, which did employ real-time computer vision approaches for scene detection and motion/orientation tracking. In his current role at Knorr-Bremse GmbH he is involved in the development of neural network concepts for utilizing data from a variety of sensors with the goal to enable autonomously driving trucks in SAE level 3 and higher. ... More >>


Eleonora Alfinito, Università del Salento, Italy
Rodolfo Baggio, Bocconi University, Italy
Franco Bagnoli, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
Daniele Barettin, Unicusano - University Nicolò Cusano Rome, Italy
Mohamed Batouche, Université Constantine 2 - Abdelhamid Mehri, Algeria
Matteo Beccaria, Università del Salento, Italy
Christophe Berenguer, Grenoble Institute of Technology, France
Gilles Bernot, Université Côte d'Azur, France
Ginestra Bianconi, Queen Mary, University of London (QMUL), United Kingdom
Raffaella Burioni, Università di Parma, Italy
Vincenza Carchiolo, Università degli Studi di Catania, Catania, Italy
Richard Clegg, Queen Mary University of London, United Kingdom
Carmen-Eugenia Costea, Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania
Regino Criado, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Guillaume Deffuant, Irstea, France
Khaldoon Dhou, Texas A&M University Central Texas, United States
Craig Douglas, University of Wyoming, United States
Victor M. Eguiluz, Institute For Cross-disciplinary Physics And Complex Systems, Spain
Aquino Espindola, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Bahar Farahani, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran, Islamic Republic of
Francesco Fontanella, Università di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale, Italy
Didier Georges, Grenoble Institute of Technology - Grenoble INP, France
Adrian Gligor, University of Medicine, Pharmacy, Sciences and Technology "George Emil Palade" of Targu Mures, Romania
Sergio Gómez, Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
Frederic Guinand, Le Havre Normandy University, France
Davut Hanbay, Inonu University, Turkey
Edward Huang, George Mason University, United States
Hawoong Jeong, KAIST, Korea, Republic of
Serafim Kalliadasis, Imperial College, United Kingdom
Deepak Kapgate, Nagpur University, India
Hyoungshick Kim, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea, Republic of
Igor Kotenko, St. Petersburg Institute for Informatics and Automation of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SPIIRAS), Russian Federation
Krzysztof Kulakowski, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Lucas Lacasa, Queen Mary University Of London, United Kingdom
Tao Li, Nankai University, China
Krzysztof Malarz, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Massimo Marchiori, University of Padua, Italy
Matus Medo, Fribourg University, Switzerland
Byungjoon Min, City College of New York, United States
Vincenzo Nicosia, Queen Mary University Of London, United Kingdom
Daniel Oliveira Cajueiro, Universidade de Brasilia, Brazil
Flavio Oquendo, European University of Brittany (IRISA), France
A. Ozbayoglu, TOBB University of Economics and Technology, Turkey
Ben Parker, Mathematically Speaking Ltd, United Kingdom
Faustino Prieto, University of Cantabria, Spain
Francisco Prieto-Castrillo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Denise Pumain, University Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne, France
Grzegorz Redlarski, Gdansk University of Technology, Poland
Francisco Rodrigues, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Miguel Romance, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Vittorio Rosato, ENEA, Roma (Italy), Italy
Irene Sendiña-Nadal, University King Juan Carlos, Spain
Roberto Serra, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy
Yongtang Shi, Nankai University, China
Bosiljka Tadic, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
Misako Takayasu, Advanced Data Analysis and Modeling Unit, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Gonzalo Travieso, University Of São Paulo, Brazil
Imre Varga, University of Debrecen, Hungary
Sandro Wimberger, Parma University, Italy
Min Xie, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Muhittin Yilmaz, Texas A&M University-Kingsville (TAMUK), United States
Massimiliano Zanin, Instituto de Física Interdisciplinar y Sistemas Complejos IFISC-CSIC, Spain
Dmitry Zinoviev, Suffolk University, United States